The old bull … #GABR

If you don’t know the joke about the old bull and the young bull, google it.

While on paper day two didn’t look all that hard, we’ve got some solid days ahead, so I decided to save a few matches for later in the week and ride with the not as quick group – which sounds much nicer than the slow group. I probably could have hung on with the big kids, but instead I was able to stay comfortably within my limits all day.

And what a day it was.

Metung to Anglers Rest is 150K with a couple of longish, but not too steep, climbs. Some rolling hills, then 10 of the best kilometers I think I’ve ever ridden – a stunning road that winds along the top of a valley in the Alpine National Park, not really dropping or climbing, with just amazing scenery.

We finished the day at the Blue Duck in Anglers Rest. An iconic Aussie country pub, it’s been here for over 100 years. Great steaks, cold beer. If you’re in the part of the world you don’t have to worry too much about going to the Red Duck by mistake – the Blue Duck is it for Anglers Rest, nothing else here.

I’d link to a map, or post a few pictures, but there’s also no Internet or phone here in Anglers Rest. This has to be about as isolated a place as you could find in Victoria, you can almost imagine the descendants of a bush ranger are still hiding out in the hills & forests somewhere nearby.

I hopped off the bike and did what any sensible cyclists would do: walked into the bar and bought a beer. Then i discovered a few of the boys were standing mid thigh deep in the river that runs past the pub. Apparently freezing cold water is good for tired legs (if it’s good enough for AFL players, it’s probably going to work for me) so in I went. After 5 minutes or so, the pain went away, more because my legs were numb rather than from any therapeutic from benefits the water. But I have to say that as I write this the next morning, they’re feeling pretty good.

Today is going to be tough – Falls Creek & Tawonga Gap, but I’ll tell you all about it next time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

