6 down, and it looks like 6 to go …

6 weeks ago this past Saturday, I was bumped off my bike & broke my L1 vertebrae … but if you’ve been following the story so far, you already know what. I guess writing isn’t like reality TV – I don’t need to keep reminding my long suffering reader what’s happened.

This afternoon I had my follow up / mid recovery x-ray & appointment with the neurosurgeon.

I’ve been a little apprehensive about the appointment for the last few days – my inner pessimist (who doesn’t get to say much) has been nagging me …. what if it’s not knitting the right way? And my brilliant wife said “if it’s not, you’re having an operation to fix it, and it might take a few weeks longer to get back on your bike”. So I stopped worrying. ‘Nuf said.

I’m not going to bitch about being kept waiting for 40 minutes past the agreed time (apparently that’s supposed to happen), nor am I going to make snide remarks about Dr. Doogie Howser’s age.

He’s happy with the x-ray and the way my bone is knitting. If he’s happy, I certainly am too.

If we keep working to schedule, the brace is going into the bin in another 6 weeks, then I’m allowed to do “gentle exercise” while I rebuild my back & core strength. I’m supposed to stay away from load bearing / jarring, which means the running career I never had isn’t coming back from the dead. I managed to get Dr. Doogie to agree, in front of Sarah, that cycling isn’t load bearing.

So all being well I’ll be pedalling, bitching about ergo sessions, lack of fitness, impossible climbs and cold mornings again by mid September!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 6 down, and it looks like 6 to go …

  1. sue herrick says:

    well done Nick, see what 6 weeks on the couch can do.

Leave a Reply

