Polite?

I’m not going to start this post by saying “sorry I haven’t posted for a while, I’ve been busy”. I know, dear reader, you don’t rely on this blog for anything more than an occasional distraction from whatever it is you do all day, and the fact I haven’t posted since about forever probably only matters to me.

I went for a ride this morning. Nothing unusual in that.

A nice roll with a good friend, nobody trying to break any records.

A bit of a nasty headwind while we headed out (it was a there & back ride, rather than a loop). We dug a little deeper and pushed into the wind, chatting about all the things you chat about on a Thursday morning on the bike – life, wives & kids, business, the weather.

And we passed a guy struggling a little in the wind, who did exactly what I would have done: he jumped on our wheels and let us do the work.

And he sat there. When we sped up a little, so did he. We slowed down, so did he. For 20 kilometres. When we reached the turning point, he turned too. We stopped for a few minutes and let him go.

I don’t have a problem with someone sitting on, I do it often enough.

I do have a problem with someone who does it for 20k and doesn’t offer to pull a turn, and then can’t be bothered to say “thanks for the lift”.

99.9something% of the people I meet on the road are great folks – friendly, happy to chat, to pull a turn into the wind, or offer to do so, or at least say “sorry mate, nothing in my legs today, do you mind if I just sit on?”

And there are the very few rude pricks like this morning’s. Chapeau mate, and find someone else’s wheel next time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

